Brand: The LAB

The LAB

New ways to enjoy modern snus with The Lab Series

It all started in September of 2009 when customer surveys carried out by Swedish Match were compiled into an overview of what was wanted. The famous snus company then set about trying to develop the products that were wanted. The blend of tobacco, the unique fragrances and the flavor of the resulting snus were all checked hundreds of times until the new snus varieties were declared ready to be tested on the general public. The Lab is unique among snus brands for the minimalist packaging and the complete absence of any logo.

What people wanted was a more discreet snus

The market research leading to the development of The Lab series was carried out in Sweden and Norway. Various snus users were interviewed extensively – with questions pertaining to their likes and dislikes when it came to snus, as well as their top complaints and how a dream snus would be. The resulting goldmine of information was complied into a book that became the basis for the creative team behind the new snus series.

The Lab team was brought together in the later half of 2008. Various scientists, developers (including a Tobacco Master!) and designers in related fields were asked to become part, and the work they began was to go on for 6 months and 50 sets of product trials. The resulting product tasted just as good as the expectations led people to believe, but was also innovative in its shape and size.

The more discreet pouch containing the portion was designed to be longer and fit easily under a user’s upper lip. The pouch material was also given an overhaul to make it better at releasing flavor without dripping, while still keeping the snus fresh. Users would be overjoyed at the flavor explosion and less runny nature of these portions – something that the creative team at Swedish Match labored long and hard over to get right. The can itself was also redesigned to include a special compartment for the storage of used portions. The appearance of the cans was kept simple and uniform with a clean grey color and clear labeling.

After the extensive testing period, the product as a whole – pouches, cans and name – was released in two varieties. Both featured a natural tobacco flavor but one came with a higher concentration of tobacco for a stronger nicotine level. The different varieties were labeled using a simple numbering system – inspired by the numbers originally used by Swedish Match to keep track of the samples. The first versions of The Lab – numbers 01 and 02 – were released in Norway in 2009 and the success of the brand had started. Now The Lab is considered to be a modern classic among Swedish Snus.

A brand without branding

The reason behind the decision not to develop any complex branding was based on the customer responses in the market research. When asked what they thought about the branding, the message from snus users was perfectly clear: they did not care about any brand, only about the quality and great taste of the snus itself. This response was taken seriously by the developers of The Lab series, and to this day the packaging does not include any logo or fancy design. 

Showing 1 - 6 of 6 items

    From 5,89 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Discover the cedar and oak highlights in this delicious Lab 02 snus from Swedish Match. The Slim Strong Portions fit snugly under your lip, offering a discreet and smooth snus experience.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    5,89 CHF

    1 Can

    9,29 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,89 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,39 CHF

    From 9,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    A most interesting flavor blending herbs, flowers, nuts and woody undertones in a startling combo that really works. The Lab 05 comes in Slim portions for a convenient Snus experience.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    1 Can

    9,29 CHF

    10 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    30 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    From 5,89 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    The Lab 06 brings the typical flower and wood notes tempered with a strong, nutty tobacco blend. This extra strong snus is the strongest by Swedish Match so be prepared for a stimulating experience.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    5,89 CHF

    1 Can

    9,29 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,89 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,39 CHF

    From 9,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Test The Lab 07 Snus with its nutty tobacco flavor laced with herbs and flowery overtones. The Slim White portions are ideal for when you wish to take you snus with you out and about.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    1 Can

    9,29 CHF

    10 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    30 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    From 9,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Try the fresh peppermint sensation brought to you by The Lab 12 Slim White Strong Mint Portion Snus. A strong snus in extra narrow portions that are idea when you are on the go.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    1 Can

    9,29 CHF

    10 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    30 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    From 9,39 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Experience The Lab with this new mint & xylitol flavor. The refreshing flavor and helpful effect on your oral hygiene means it's a bit like chewing toothpaste, except that toothpaste doesn't come with added nicotine!

    In Stock
    72 Cans

    9,39 CHF

    1 Can

    9,39 CHF

    10 Cans

    9,39 CHF

    30 Cans

    9,39 CHF

1 - 6 of 6 are displayed

GET THE BEST PRICE WITH ONLY ONE CLICK

We show you at a glance how many cans of a product you (still) can add to your shopping cart until the Swiss import limit (1200g tobacco) is reached.

The quantity and the respective price are automatically adjusted as soon as you add products to your shopping cart.

So we do the math and you get the lowest unit price by using the import limit optimally.

Brand: The LAB

The LAB

De nouvelles façons de savourer le snus moderne avec The Lab Series

Tout a commencé en septembre 2009, lorsque les enquêtes menées auprès des consommateurs par Swedish Match ont été compilées pour donner une vue d'ensemble de ce qui était recherché. La célèbre société de snus s'est alors lancée dans le développement des produits recherchés. Le mélange de tabac, les parfums uniques et la saveur du snus obtenu ont été contrôlés des centaines de fois jusqu'à ce que les nouvelles variétés de snus soient déclarées prêtes à être testées auprès du grand public. The Lab est une marque de snus unique, en raison de son conditionnement minimaliste et de l'absence totale de logo.

Ce que les gens voulaient, c'était un snus plus discret

L'étude de marché qui a conduit au développement de la série The Lab a été réalisée en Suède et en Norvège. Différents consommateurs de snus ont été soigneusement sondés, à l’aide de questions portant sur ce qu'ils aimaient ou pas, sur leurs principales plaintes et sur le snus de leur rêve. Cette mine d'or d'informations sera convertie en livre, lequel deviendra fondamental pour l'équipe à l’origine de la nouvelle série de snus.

Cette équipe a été réunie vers la fin de l'année 2008. Différents scientifiques, développeurs (dont un maître tabatier !) et concepteurs issus de domaines connexes ont été invités à y participer, et le travail qu'ils ont entrepris a duré 6 mois pour 50 ensembles d'essais de produits. Le résultat était aussi bon que les attentes suscitées, mais il était aussi innovant dans sa forme et sa taille.

Le sachet plus discret contenant la portion a été conçu pour être plus long et se glisser facilement sous la lèvre supérieure du consommateur. La matière du sachet a également été revue afin de mieux libérer la saveur sans égouter de liquide, tout en gardant le snus frais. Les consommateurs seraient ravis de l'explosion des saveurs et de la nature moins liquide de ces portions – une chose pour laquelle l'équipe créative de Swedish Match a travaillé très dur. La boîte elle-même du snus The Lab a également été redessinée pour inclure un compartiment spécial pour le stockage des portions consommées. L'apparence des boîtes est restée simple et uniforme avec une couleur grise nette et un étiquetage clair.

Après la longue période d'essai, le produit dans son ensemble – sachets, boîtes et nom – a été commercialisé en deux variétés. Les deux se caractérisaient par une saveur naturelle de tabac, mais l'une présentait une concentration plus élevée de tabac pour un niveau de nicotine plus élevé. Les différentes variétés ont été étiquetées à l'aide d'un système de numérotation simple – inspiré des numéros utilisés à l'origine par Swedish Match pour suivre les échantillons. Les premières versions du snus The Lab – numéros 01 et 02 – sont sorties en Norvège en 2009 et le succès de la marque a commencé. Aujourd'hui, le snus The Lab est considéré comme un classique moderne parmi les snus suédois.

Une marque sans image identitaire

La décision de ne pas développer d’image identitaire complexe a été motivée par les réponses des consommateurs dans l'étude de marché. Lorsqu'on leur a demandé ce qu'ils pensaient de l’image identitaire, le message des consommateurs de snus a été parfaitement clair : ils ne se souciaient d'aucune marque, mais seulement de la qualité et du bon goût du snus lui-même. Cette réponse a été prise au sérieux par les développeurs du snus The Lab, et à ce jour le conditionnement n'inclut pas de logo ou de design fantaisiste. 

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items

    Découvrez les notes de cèdre et de chêne dans ce délicieux snus Lab 02 de chez Swedish Match. Les portions au format Slim s'ajustent parfaitement sous la lèvre, pour une expérience discrète et agréable.

    1 Boîte

    8,49 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,18 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,78 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,81 CHF

    Une saveur très intéressante qui mélange des nuances d'herbes, de fleurs, de noix et de bois dans une association saisissante qui fonctionne vraiment. The Lab 05 est disponible en portions Slim pour une expérience snus pratique.

    1 Boîte

    8,49 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,18 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,78 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,81 CHF

    Essayez The Lab 07 Snus avec sa saveur de tabac aux noisettes agrémentée de notes d'herbes et de fleurs. Les portions Slim White sont idéales lorsque vous souhaitez emporter votre snus avec vous.

    1 Boîte

    8,49 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,18 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,78 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,81 CHF

    Essayez la rafraîchissante sensation à la menthe poivrée proposée par The Lab 12 Slim White Strong Mint Portion Snus. Un snus à intensité forte dans des portions extra étroites idéales en déplacement.

    1 Boîte

    8,73 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,53 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    6,13 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    5,08 CHF

Résultats 1 - 4 sur 4.