Brand: Grov

Grov

Grov snus – A Northern delicacy

The climate in the north of Sweden can be harsh at times, and people tend to be more taciturn. This is the region where the coarsely ground Grov snus first became popular. The snus is largely the same today, with its strong, full-bodied tobacco flavor. This is a brand for people who really love the taste of dark tobacco, and Sweden must have plenty of those kinds of people, as this is one of the popular snuses on the Swedish market.

Sending love from up North

Every Swede will readily agree that the Norrland area of the country is special. Sparsely populated, with only 12% of the country’s population living in the entire (huge!) region, most of it is classified as sub-arctic terrain. The locals can seem a quiet and hard-working bunch who aren’t too bothered about trends in fashion. However, if snowmobiles and hunting are your thing, this could well be your heaven on earth. It seems fitting that a coarse-grained snus like Grov came into being in a region like this. News of this snus variety spread slowly and it did not become truly popular until the special recipe developed by Willhelm Hellgren put Grov snus on the map. Hellgren was based in Stockholm in the now popular hipster area of Götgatan, and was a rival to the founder of Ettan snus - Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf. Similar to Ettan, Grov is one of the oldest brands of Swedish snus and was registered in 1915.

From beginner to seasoned pro

Willhelm Hellgren’s story starts out with him working as an office clerk in the Aspelins factory in Stockholm. He was highly ambitious and took it upon himself to absorb as much knowledge about the making of tobacco products as he could. From the very beginning, he had plans to start a factory of his own. This dream came true in 1840 and after just 10 years, his factory was the third largest in Sweden. He also had a number of tobacco outlets in strategic areas of Stockholm. After a long development profess, Grov snus became a well-established brand with its own special recipe – rather than just being a term for the quality of the snus.

It’s also interesting to note the rivalry between W:m Hellgren & Co and the market leader at the time - Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf, the founder of Ettan. Other snus varieties offered by Hellgren’s business at the time included names such as Patent Snus, Gotlands Rapé, Mörkt snus and Ankarsnus. However of these, Grov snus is the only remaining brand today.

Part of the reason for the association of Grov Snus with the north comes from a move by the Swedish government after they took over all snus production in 1915. Manufacture of the Grov brand was shifted into the north of Sweden to a place called Härnösand that was 428 km from Stockholm. This was to reflect the fact that most of the brand’s fans lived in the north, and this would make transport after production more efficient. As another efficiency measure, Grov snus was also sold in practical half kilo cans that could be re-used as food storage cans afterwards. Cans were also sometimes used to fry Amercian pork in – something that we’re sure no other snus brand can claim!

Grov snus – a popular brand since 1915

The association with the north and with an outdoor lifestyle could be a large part of the reason for the traditionally masculine image of the brand. The target consumers were farm and forest workers, as well as hunters, fishermen and sportsmen. The brand was associated with motor vehicles of all kinds. The strong, dark tobacco flavor and the coarsely ground nature of the brand seems to fit with this image. Grov snus sold in portions did not arrive until 1983, and it took until 2003 for a white version to arrive.

 

If it's not broken, don’t fix it

Recent years have seen a few subtle changes in the design of Grov snus packaging. One could claim that this is the only change that has been made to the brand since 1915. This refinement was carried out by the brand’s owner – Swedish Match – with extreme caution, as it is well known that many Grov snus fans (and there are enough of them to sell over 20 million cans of Grov snus every year!) are traditionalists who have been using the brand for decades. In such a case, any attempts to “improve” the brand could be seen as unnecessary and met with outrage.

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items

    From 7,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    This long-time classic is a firm favorite among loose snus users. The robust tobacco base of Grov Loose Snus delivers hints of nuts and flowers. A normal strength snus that begs to be tested.

    In Stock
    28 Cans

    7,29 CHF

    1 Can

    10,59 CHF

    5 Cans

    9,99 CHF

    10 Cans

    8,89 CHF

    From 5,79 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    The easiest way to enjoy Grov Snus when you are on the go. The great full-bodied flavor in convenient 1g portions. Always in stock - get it online at BuySnus.ch

    In Stock
    50 Cans

    5,79 CHF

    1 Can

    8,99 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,69 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,29 CHF

    From 5,79 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Grov Snus comes in original flavor - bringing you a full-bodied tobacco taste with subtle herb and almond hints. This is a strong snus delivered in moistened portions for fast and convenient flavor release.

    In Stock
    50 Cans

    5,79 CHF

    1 Can

    8,99 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,69 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,29 CHF

    From 5,79 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Grov Portion Snus - Available in a White variety too. Get the full-bodied Grov flavor in a white snus that maintains the same high standards when it comes to portion size and long-lasting flavor.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    5,79 CHF

    1 Can

    9,19 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,69 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,29 CHF

1 - 4 of 4 are displayed

GET THE BEST PRICE WITH ONLY ONE CLICK

We show you at a glance how many cans of a product you (still) can add to your shopping cart until the Swiss import limit (1200g tobacco) is reached.

The quantity and the respective price are automatically adjusted as soon as you add products to your shopping cart.

So we do the math and you get the lowest unit price by using the import limit optimally.

Brand: Grov

Grov

Le Snus Grov – Une gourmandise du Nord

Le climat dans le nord de la Suède peut être parfois rude, et les gens ont tendance à être plus taciturnes. C'est dans cette région que le snus Grov grossièrement moulu a d’abord connu sa popularité. Ce snus est en grande partie le même aujourd'hui, avec son goût de tabac fort et corsé. Il s’agit d’une marque pour les personnes qui aiment vraiment le goût du tabac brun, et la Suède doit avoir beaucoup de ce genre de personnes, car c'est un des snus populaires sur le marché suédois.

Avec tout l’amour du Nord

Chaque Suédois conviendra volontiers que la région du Norrland est particulière. Peu peuplée, avec seulement 12 % de la population du pays vivant dans l'ensemble de la région (énorme !), elle est classée en grande partie comme un terrain subarctique. Les gens du coin peuvent sembler être des gens tranquilles et travailleurs qui ne se soucient pas trop des tendances de la mode. Cependant, si les motoneiges et la chasse sont votre truc, cela pourrait bien être votre paradis sur terre. Il semble logique qu'un snus à brin grossier comme Grov ait vu le jour dans une région comme celle-ci. La nouvelle de cette variété de snus s’est répandue lentement et il n’est pas vraiment devenu populaire avant que la recette spéciale élaborée par Willhelm Hellgren place le snus Grov sur la carte. M. Hellgren était basé à Stockholm, dans la zone populaire de Götgatan ; il était l’un des rivaux du fondateur du snus Ettan, Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf. Comme Ettan, Grov est l'une des plus anciennes marques de snus suédois et a été enregistrée en 1915.

De débutant à professionnel chevronné

L'histoire de Willhelm Hellgren commence par le fait qu'il travaille comme employé de bureau dans l'usine Aspelins à Stockholm. Il était très ambitieux et il a pris sur lui d'assimiler le plus de connaissances possible sur la fabrication des produits du tabac. Dès le début, il avait l'intention de créer sa propre usine. Ce rêve s'est réalisé en 1840 et après seulement 10 ans, son usine était la troisième plus grande de Suède. Il avait également un certain nombre de points de vente de tabac dans des zones stratégiques de Stockholm. Après un long processus d’élaboration, le snus Grov est devenu une marque bien établie avec sa propre recette spéciale – plutôt que d'être simplement un terme pour la qualité du snus.

Il est également intéressant de noter la rivalité entre Hellgren & Co et le leader du marché de l'époque : Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf, le fondateur d'Ettan. Parmi les autres variétés de snus proposées par Hellgren à l'époque figuraient des noms tels que Patent Snus, Gotlands Rapé, Mörkt Snus et Ankarsnus. Cependant, le snus Grov est aujourd'hui la seule marque qui reste.

L'association du snus Grov avec le nord est en partie due à une décision du gouvernement suédois après qu'il eut repris toute la production de snus en 1915. La fabrication de la marque Grov a été transférée dans le nord de la Suède à Härnösand, à 428 km de Stockholm. Cela afin de refléter le fait que la plupart des amateurs de la marque vivaient dans le nord, ce qui rendait le transport après la production plus efficace. Comme autre mesure d'efficacité, le snus Grov était également vendu dans des boîtes pratiques d'un demi-kilo qui pouvaient être réutilisées comme boîtes pour aliments. Les boîtes étaient aussi parfois utilisées pour frire du porc américain, ce que, nous en sommes certains, aucune autre marque de snus ne peut prétendre !

Le snus Grov – une marque populaire depuis 1915

L'association avec le nord et un style de vie en plein air pourrait expliquer en grande partie l'image traditionnellement masculine de la marque. Les consommateurs cibles étaient les travailleurs agricoles et forestiers, ainsi que les chasseurs, les pêcheurs et les sportifs. La marque était associée à des véhicules motorisés de toutes sortes. La forte saveur de tabac brun et la nature grossièrement moulue de la marque semblent s'accorder avec cette image. Le snus Grov vendu en portions n'arriva pas avant 1983, et il aura fallu attendre 2003 pour qu'une version blanche arrive.

Ce qui n’est pas cassé ne se répare pas

Au cours des dernières années, le design du conditionnement du snus Grov a connu quelques changements subtils. On pourrait prétendre que c'est le seul changement apporté au snus Grov depuis 1915. Ce perfectionnement a été réalisé par le propriétaire de la marque – Swedish Match – avec une extrême prudence, car il est bien connu que de nombreux fans du snus Grov (et il y en a assez pour vendre plus de 20 millions de boîtes de snus Grov chaque année !) sont des traditionalistes qui utilisent la marque depuis des décennies. Dans un tel cas, toute tentative « d'amélioration » de la marque pourrait être considérée comme inutile et susciter l'indignation.

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 item

    Le moyen le plus facile de profiter de Grov Snus lorsque vous êtes en déplacement. Le grand goût corsé dans des portions pratiques d'un gramme. Toujours en stock - Achetez-le en ligne sur BuySnus.ch

    1 Boîte

    8,49 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,49 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,79 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,99 CHF

Résultats 1 - 1 sur 1.