Brand: General

General

General – the Original snus – established in 1850

Can you believe that the General blend incorporates 22 different types of tobacco? The smallest drop of bergamot oil is added to this blend leaving you with a perfect mixture that took around 1500 days to get right. The recipe was developed in Gothenburg, Sweden over 160 years ago, and General snus has been the original gold standard of snus since then.

Where snus was born: Gothenburg 1800s

When you think about the Vikings, pillaging and burning are probably some of the first things that come to mind, but these original Scandinavians were actually much more into trade – which centered around the port and the growing town that later became Gothenburg. A mere 3768 miles separate Gothenburg from New York, and that famous Swedish port was the starting point for the journeys of the 1.3 million Swedes who emigrated to America. The mood in Gothenburg has always been innovative – with entrepreneurs who found new ways of making cars, ball bearings, cameras (to name just some of the famous Swedish products) being based there. One of the brilliant inventors who lived in Gothenburg was called Johan A Boman.

Mr Boman had both an extraordinary sense of smell and a taste for the luxuries that life can provide. He was extremely patient and developed his almost magic ability for blending aromas to its utmost limit in the 1500 days he spent on the recipe for the Swedish snus that would later come to be known as General – still made from the same recipe even now. The precious recipe included 22 types of tobacco from famous plantations around the world, as well as the addition of a few drops of bergamot oil. This fragrant oil comes from the skin of citrus fruit but is sweeter than lemon and gives General snus its distinctive flavor.

After perfecting the recipe in 1850, news of this innovative new snus spread far and wide, but problems with production faced Mr Boman. His delicious new snus was still blended by hand in old kitchen jars from his Gothenburg shop, but the craze for the new blend led to him taking over a tobacco factory and employing more workers to produce the General blend. The Boman family continued to run and operate the factory until 1915 which was when all tobacco production facilities were seized by the Swedish state to pay for the first pension reform and national defense. Tobacco products were on of the most profitable businesses at the time and an obvious choice. This state of affairs continued until 1967 when the Swedish state relinquished control of production and the General snus brand, and the company now called Swedish Match took over. General snus is still known as the world’s premium snus brand.

 

The General Brand

The Original, The Best. A written history of General Snus could fill volumes. It’s best to accept the brand for what it is – the absolute top – and leave it there.

However, one of the interesting developments in the history of General Snus was its transition from a common, general snus brand to the very topmost one – something that happened entirely spontaneously. From the start, there was no marketing of the brand, which was in keeping with the Swedish culture, whose people prefer solid action over empty words. General Snus has attained and held its top position partly thanks to its history and heritage, but mostly thanks to the simply divine recipe on which it is based.

Rigorous control from start to finish

Any snus product begins in the soil that grows the tobacco. Swedish Match invests plenty into laboratories for analyzing soil samples taken from the plantations where tobacco is grown. They have experimented plenty with cultivating tobacco in different countries with different soil and weather conditions to try and get the best possible raw material for their snus products. If a certain region is declared to have good soil for growing tobacco, it is planted and the growing plants are monitored carefully. Tobacco types are selected according to the type of seeds, the region, climate, leaf positions on the plant and the conditions for curing the leaves after growing them. Regular visits by Swedish Match representatives check that the crops are growing well and that they will meet the required standards. The reason for all of the checks and monitoring is to ensure that the tobacco used as a component of the Swedish Match blend contains the lowest possible concentration of unwanted compounds. Quality control is a key factor throughout the entire process, from before the tobacco is even planted to the harvesting process when the leaves are taken to be cured in the ideal conditions inside the curing factory. 

A blend of new technology and old tradition

The first step to making snus is to grind the tobacco into fine grounds. Each snus brand will have different specifications for the size of the particles. After this comes the blending process, which could involve anything from 10 to 30 types of tobacco, along with water and salt. Heat treatment – also called pasteurization – is the next step, to kill any microorganisms in the tobacco. After cooling, flavors such as spices, oils or even alcoholic substances are added to give the snus its particular character. Later comes the packaging process where loose snus can be added directly to cans, or portion snus is divided and wrapped in the well-known pouches. Swedish Match works on a zero tolerance basis, ensuring and each and every step of the production process in working towards the highest possible level of quality. High tech tools and instruments are used to control and monitor the process of making the tobacco, along with the watchful eyes of the well-trained employees. Snus manufacture has been around in Sweden for more than 200 years, but the equipment used by Swedish Match is at the cutting edge of technology. If the characteristic smell of fresh tobacco wasn’t lingering throughout the facility, you could easily imagine that the factory was a plant for the production of fighter jet parts or similar. Swedish Match has even come up with their own GothiaTek quality standard in order to hold themselves to the same super high level of quality standards. Those Swedes are a hard-working and dedicated bunch of people.

The history behind the Standard

There was originally no quality standard for Swedish snus, so the Swedish Match company set to and invented one of their own – called GothiaTek®. This is a rigorous quality control standard that was certainly not created to give themselves an easy time of it!

Sweden has been a centre for snus manufacture for around 200 years. Snus is an unusual product and is quite different to other smoke free ways to consume tobacco – especially when it comes to the production methods. Snus is counted as a foodstuff according the Swedish legislation, which makes sense when you consider that snus is placed in the mouth. However, the Swedish National Food Agency is a national authority focused on specifying and limiting the ingredients of food products and does not set standards designed to promote high quality. As the leading producer of Swedish snus worldwide, Swedish match are the ones who have done most of the research. 

The GothiaTek standard acts as a guarantee to assure customers that any product produced according to its guidelines has undergone strict quality controls. Swedish Match implements GothiaTek at every stage of production, from growing the tobacco through every stage of production until the product reaches the consumer.

The quality standard called GothiaTek® has been developed by Swedish Match and provides:

  •          Requirements relating to the maximum permitted levels of elements that occur naturally in tobacco but are suspected to be harmful.
  •          Requirements relating to the raw materials used.
  •          Requirements relating to manufacturing processes.
  •          Requirements relating to the product information that is provided to consumers.

The standard is designed to promote the reduction or eliminate of suspected harmful substances from Swedish snus, as well as promoting better knowledge about snus products and the possible impacts that they may have on users. Independent and internal R&D aimed at continuous development are supported by the provisions of GothiaTek®.

Another aim of GothiaTek® is to promote the spread of knowledge about Swedish snus products through cooperation with authorities and legislators in order that all new regulations and law should be based on the best available knowledge about the products.

General – Sweden favourite snus

The taste of General Snus is robust and complex, thanks to the blend of over 22 types of tobacco. The flavor is enhanced by a few drops of bergamot oil, resulting in a citrusy overtone to balance the full-bodied, spicy tobacco. Many Swedish snus users consider this to be the one and only snus flavor. 

per page
Showing 1 - 12 of 16 items

    From 4,19 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    General Dry Mint is a classic snus from Swedish Match. The Mini Portion variety is an ideal for solution for users who find normal portions too large or wish for a more discreet snus experience.

    In Stock
    200 Cans

    4,19 CHF

    1 Can

    7,39 CHF

    10 Cans

    6,19 CHF

    30 Cans

    4,99 CHF

    From 7,19 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Loose snus has the advantage of being flexible and providing a distinctive authentic flavor. For experienced users, this extra strong variety of the classic General Snus will be a firm favorite

    In Stock
    28 Cans

    7,19 CHF

    1 Can

    10,39 CHF

    5 Cans

    9,89 CHF

    10 Cans

    8,79 CHF

    From 5,89 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    If you are an experience snus user who loves General Snus, this could be the next step for you. The extra strong variety offers the same great taste with more nicotine per gram of snus.

    In Stock
    54 Cans

    5,89 CHF

    1 Can

    9,29 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,79 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,39 CHF

    From 6,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    If you haven't tried General Loose snus, we recommend doing so today. You cannot call yourself a Swedish snus fan until you do. Blended tobacco and bergamot highlights offer an experience like no other.

    In Stock
    28 Cans

    6,29 CHF

    1 Can

    8,99 CHF

    5 Cans

    8,59 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,69 CHF

    From 7,59 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Why not try the superb blend of General Snus and Mackmyra Oak Whiskey in loose snus format? If you're a traditionalist preferring your own portions, this is the best way to enjoy this amazing flavor.

    In Stock
    28 Cans

    7,59 CHF

    1 Can

    10,99 CHF

    5 Cans

    10,49 CHF

    10 Cans

    9,29 CHF

    From 5,99 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Imagine a premium snus where the hearty tobacco aroma of General Snus is blended with the Oak Whiskey taste of Mackmyra. And you have hit upon this very snus! Normal strength but a super flavor.

    In Stock
    50 Cans

    5,99 CHF

    1 Can

    9,69 CHF

    10 Cans

    8,19 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,69 CHF

    From 4,69 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    General Snus also comes in mini format for convenience but loses none of its full-bodied flavor. Experience the magic of bergamot and grass in mini, moistened portions. Fast and powerful flavor release.

    In Stock
    133 Cans

    4,69 CHF

    1 Can

    8,19 CHF

    10 Cans

    6,89 CHF

    30 Cans

    5,69 CHF

    From 4,49 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Try Mini White Portion variety of General Snus to get a practical snus experience when you are on the go. The classic General Snus taste with hints of bergamot and grass in convenient dry-surface portions.

    In Stock
    120 Cans

    4,49 CHF

    1 Can

    7,99 CHF

    10 Cans

    6,79 CHF

    30 Cans

    5,49 CHF

    From 4,99 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    General Mint brings you the great flavor of General Snus by Swedish Match - but with an added peppermint taste! Don't miss out on this delicious and practical White Portion format.

    In Stock
    50 Cans

    4,99 CHF

    1 Can

    7,49 CHF

    10 Cans

    6,99 CHF

    30 Cans

    5,49 CHF

    From 4,89 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Get a stronger version of General snus with General One. Bringing you the same great tobacco taste with hints of citrus, bergamot, tea and leather. A strong snus with original portions.

    In Stock
    70 Cans

    4,89 CHF

    1 Can

    7,69 CHF

    10 Cans

    6,49 CHF

    30 Cans

    5,29 CHF

    From 4,89 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    General One brings you all the wonderful flavor of General Snus by Swedish match, but with a noticeably stronger nicotine kick. Same great spicy tobacco flavor with bergamot and citrus hints.

    In Stock
    68 Cans

    4,89 CHF

    1 Can

    7,69 CHF

    10 Cans

    6,49 CHF

    30 Cans

    5,29 CHF

    From 6,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    General Onyx Black is General snus as you have never tasted it before. A stronger snus variety bringing you 11mg/g of nicotine for a stimulating snus experience. Convenient portions deliver a refreshing flavor burst.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    6,29 CHF

    1 Can

    9,89 CHF

    10 Cans

    8,29 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,79 CHF

1 - 12 of 16 are displayed

GET THE BEST PRICE WITH ONLY ONE CLICK

We show you at a glance how many cans of a product you (still) can add to your shopping cart until the Swiss import limit (1200g tobacco) is reached.

The quantity and the respective price are automatically adjusted as soon as you add products to your shopping cart.

So we do the math and you get the lowest unit price by using the import limit optimally.

Brand: General

General

Le snus General : le snus original, depuis 1850

Pouvez-vous croire que le mélange General incorpore 22 types de tabac ? Une fine goutte d'huile de bergamote est ajoutée à ce mélange, vous procurant un produit parfait dont l’élaboration aura nécessité 1 500 jours. La recette a été élaborée à Göteborg, en Suède, il y a plus de 160 ans. Depuis lors, le snus General est la référence absolue en matière de snus.

Lieu de naissance du snus : Göteborg, dans les années 1800

Quand on pense aux Vikings, les pillages et les incendies sont probablement les premières choses qui viennent à l'esprit, mais ces premiers Scandinaves étaient en fait beaucoup plus axés sur le commerce, qui se concentrait autour du port et de la ville en expansion qui deviendra plus tard Göteborg. À seulement 6 000 km de New York, le fameux port suédois de Göteborg était le point de départ des 1,3 million de Suédois qui émigrèrent en Amérique. L'ambiance à Göteborg a toujours été à l’innovation, des entrepreneurs à l’origine de nouvelles façons de fabriquer des voitures, des roulements à billes, des appareils photo (pour ne citer que quelques-uns des célèbres produits suédois) y étant basés. Johan A. Boman faisait partie de ces brillants inventeurs vivant à Göteborg.

M. Boman avait à la fois un sens de l'odorat extraordinaire et un goût pour le luxe que la vie peut apporter. Il a fait preuve d'une grande patience et a développé sa capacité presque magique à mélanger les arômes jusqu'au maximum de leurs capacités pendant les 1500 jours qu'il a consacrés à la recette du snus suédois, lequel allait devenir par la suite General – toujours élaboré à partir de la même recette. La précieuse recette comprenait 22 sortes de tabac provenant de plantations célèbres à travers le monde, ainsi que quelques gouttes d'huile de bergamote. Cette huile parfumée est extraite de la peau des agrumes, mais elle est plus douce que le citron et donne au snus General sa saveur particulière.

Après avoir perfectionné la recette en 1850, la nouvelle de ce nouveau snus innovant se répandit largement, mais des problèmes de production se posèrent à M. Boman. Son délicieux snus était encore mélangé à la main dans de vieux bocaux de cuisine à son atelier de Göteborg, mais l'engouement pour le nouveau mélange l'amena à reprendre une usine de tabac et à employer davantage de travailleurs pour produire le mélange General. La famille Boman continua à exploiter l'usine jusqu'en 1915, date à laquelle l'État suédois saisit toutes les installations de production de tabac pour financer la première réforme des retraites et la défense nationale. Les produits du tabac étaient alors l'une des entreprises les plus rentables et un choix évident. Cette situation se poursuivit jusqu'en 1967, lorsque l'État suédois céda le contrôle de la production et de la marque du snus General, et que la société aujourd'hui appelée Swedish Match reprit le flambeau. Le snus General est toujours connu comme la marque de snus haut de gamme dans le monde.

 

La marque General

L'original, le meilleur. Une histoire écrite du snus General pourrait remplir plusieurs volumes. Il vaut mieux accepter la marque pour ce qu'elle est : le top absolu, et c’est tout.

Cependant, le passage d'une marque de snus commune et générale à la meilleure marque, ce qui s'est produit tout à fait spontanément, constitue l'une des évolutions intéressantes de l'histoire du snus General. Au départ, il n'y avait pas de publicité de la marque, conformément à la culture suédoise, les gens préférant des actions concrètes à des paroles creuses. Le snus General a atteint et conservé sa place de leader en partie grâce à son histoire et à son héritage, mais surtout grâce à sa recette divine.

Un contrôle rigoureux du début à la fin

Tous les produits de snus naissent dans le sol où pousse le tabac. Swedish Match investit beaucoup dans les laboratoires d'analyse des échantillons de sol prélevés dans les plantations de tabac. Ils en ont analysé beaucoup, provenant de divers pays, sols et conditions climatiques afin d'obtenir la meilleure matière première possible pour leurs produits de snus. Si une région donnée est considérée comme ayant un bon sol pour la culture du tabac, elle est exploitée et les plantes qui y poussent font l'objet d'une surveillance attentive. Les types de tabac sont sélectionnés en fonction du type de graines, de la région, du climat, de la position des feuilles sur la plante et des conditions de séchage des feuilles après la culture. Les visites régulières des représentants de Swedish Match permettent de s’assurer que les cultures vont bien et qu'elles répondent aux normes requises. Ces contrôles et cette surveillance visent à garantir que le tabac utilisé pour composer le mélange de Swedish Match contient la plus faible concentration possible de composés indésirables. Le contrôle de la qualité est un facteur clé qui a lieu tout au long du processus, avant même que le tabac ne soit planté et jusqu'à la récolte lorsque les feuilles sont sélectionnées pour être séchées dans des conditions idéales à l'intérieur de l'usine de séchage. 

Un mélange de nouvelles technologies et de traditions anciennes

La première étape de la fabrication du snus consiste à broyer le tabac en brins fins. Chaque marque de snus aura des spécifications différentes concernant la taille des particules. Ensuite vient le processus de mélange, qui peut comprendre 10 à 30 types de tabac, avec de l'eau et du sel. Le traitement thermique – également appelé pasteurisation – est l'étape suivante ; elle permet d’éliminer tous les microorganismes présents dans le tabac. Après refroidissement, des arômes, tels que des épices, des huiles ou même des substances alcooliques, sont incorporés pour donner au snus son caractère particulier. Enfin, le processus de conditionnement, où le snus en vrac peut être mis directement en boîte, ou le snus en portion divisé et conditionnés dans les fameux sachets. Swedish Match applique la tolérance zéro, la société s’assure que chaque étape du processus de production atteint le plus haut niveau de qualité possible. Des outils et des instruments de haute technologie sont utilisés pour contrôler et surveiller le processus de fabrication du tabac, en plus des yeux attentifs des employés très compétents. Le snus est fabriqué en Suède depuis plus de 200 ans, mais l'équipement utilisé par Swedish Match est à la pointe de la technologie. Si l'odeur caractéristique du tabac frais ne persistait pas dans toute l'usine, on pourrait facilement imaginer qu’il s’agit d'une usine de fabrication de pièces d'avions de chasse ou autre. Swedish Match a même développé sa propre norme de qualité, GothiaTek, afin de maintenir un très haut niveau de qualité. Ces Suédois sont des gens travailleurs et dévoués.

L'histoire de la norme

À l'origine, il n'existait pas de norme de qualité pour le snus suédois, c'est pourquoi la société Swedish Match a élaboré sa propre norme : GothiaTek®. Il s'agit d'une norme rigoureuse de contrôle de la qualité qui n'a certainement pas été créée pour se la couler douce !

La Suède est au cœur de la fabrication de snus depuis environ 200 ans. Le snus est un produit inhabituel très différent des autres produits sans fumée, surtout en ce qui concerne les méthodes de production. La législation suédoise considère le snus comme une denrée alimentaire, ce qui est logique lorsque l'on pense au fait que le snus est placé dans la bouche. Toutefois, l'Agence nationale suédoise de l'alimentation est une autorité nationale qui se concentre sur la spécification et la limitation des ingrédients des produits alimentaires et ne fixe pas de normes visant à promouvoir la qualité. En tant que premier producteur mondial de snus suédois, c’est Swedish Match qui a effectué la plupart des recherches. 

La norme GothiaTek garantit aux clients que tout produit fabriqué selon ses directives a été soumis à des contrôles de qualité stricts. Swedish Match met en œuvre GothiaTek à chaque étape de la production, depuis la culture du tabac jusqu'à la consommation.

La norme de qualité GothiaTek® a été développée par Swedish Match et assure :

  •          Exigences relatives aux niveaux maximaux admissibles d'éléments présents naturellement dans le tabac, mais soupçonnés d'être nocifs.
  •          Exigences relatives aux matières premières utilisées.
  •          Exigences relatives aux procédés de fabrication.
  •          Exigences relatives à l'information sur les produits qui est fournie aux consommateurs.

La norme vise à promouvoir la réduction ou l'élimination des substances nocives soupçonnées du snus suédois, ainsi qu'à promouvoir une meilleure connaissance des produits de snus et des impacts potentiels qu'ils peuvent avoir sur les consommateurs. La R&D indépendante et interne visant à un développement continu est soutenue par les dispositions de GothiaTek®.

Un autre objectif de GothiaTek® est d’encourager la diffusion des connaissances sur les produits de snus suédois par le biais d'une coopération avec les autorités et les législateurs afin que toute nouvelle réglementation ou loi repose sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles sur les produits.

General – le snus préféré en Suède

Le goût du snus General est robuste et complexe, grâce au mélange de plus de 22 types de tabac. La saveur est rehaussée par quelques gouttes d'huile de bergamote, qui donnent une note agrumée pour équilibrer le tabac corsé et épicé. De nombreux consommateurs de snus suédois considèrent que c'est la seule et unique saveur du snus.

Showing 1 - 9 of 9 items

    Si vous êtes un utilisateur expérimenté qui adore General Snus, celle-ci pourrait être votre prochaine étape. La variété extra forte offre le même bon goût avec plus de nicotine par gramme de snus.

    1 Boîte

    6,65 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,49 CHF

    Si vous n'avez jamais essayé le snus General Loose, nous vous recommandons de le faire aujourd'hui. C'est un prérequis pour pouvoir vous autoproclamer fan de snus suédois. Le mélange de tabacs aux notes de bergamote offre une expérience sans égale.

    1 Boîte

    6,65 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    Le snus en vrac présente l'avantage d'être flexible et d'offrir une saveur caractéristique et authentique. Pour les consommateurs expérimentés, cette variété extra forte du classique General Snus sera l'un des préférés.

    1 Boîte

    6,65 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    Pourquoi ne pas essayer le superbe mélange de General Snus et Mackmyra Oak Whiskey dans un snus en vrac ? Si vous êtes un traditionaliste préférant composer vos propres portions, c'est la meilleure façon de profiter de cette étonnante saveur.

    1 Boîte

    7,00 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,00 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,99 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,99 CHF

    Imaginez un snus premium où l'arôme de tabac robuste de General Snus est mélangé au goût de whisky en fût de chêne Mackmyra. Vous l'avez trouvé ! Un snus à intensité normale mais plein de goût.

    1 Boîte

    7,00 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,00 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,99 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,99 CHF

    General Mint vous apporte le bon goût de General Snus par Swedish Match, mais avec une touche ajoutée de menthe poivrée ! Ne ratez pas ce format White Portion, pratique et délicieux.

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,49 CHF

    Procurez-vous le snus traditionnel suédois General Snus dans un format classique en portions. Le même bon goût de tabac et de bergamote sans avoir à diviser vous-même les portions. Commandez-le en ligne pour avoir 24 portions humides.

    1 Boîte

    6,65 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    30 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    60 Boîtes

    5,25 CHF

    Le snus classique General Portion est maintenant disponible pour ceux qui préfèrent le snus blanc. Appréciez le goût délicat de bergamote sur ce snus au tabac corsé. Portions à intensité normale et surface sèche.

    1 Boîte

    6,65 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,64 CHF

    Le goût de la gaulthérie est similaire à celui de la menthe, ce qui fait de General Wintergreen une alternative viable pour les amateurs de menthe. Ce snus blanc à intensité normale se présente sous forme de portions de taille idéale. Parfait lorsque vous êtes en déplacement.

    10 Boîtes

    6,65 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,49 CHF

Résultats 1 - 9 sur 9.