Brand: Ettan

Ettan

Ettan – The Swedish word for “The Number 1”

Back in 1822, life in Sweden looked pretty different. Steam locomotives were only just being developed and the electric light was also very new. Raincoats were still to come. This was the moment in history when Mr Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf put together his own special recipe for Swedish snus – a recipe that would survive over 200 years and still be popular today. The name comes from the Swedish word meaning “The number one”, meaning that Ettan was the very best quality snus produced in the factory.

An easy way to travel in time

Ettan snus offers an easy and convenient way to travel back in time – as long as you’re content to travel to the Sweden of 1822. How? Because the recipe for Ettan loose snus has not changed in close to 200 years! The blend is still exactly as it was defined by the snus variety’s inventor - Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf. Not even the smallest change has been made to the quantities and types of tobaccos used. If you’re a fan of portion snus, bear in mind that this convenient way to enjoy snus did not arrive on the scene until the late 20th century. For those unfamiliar with snus, the method used to make it seems very simple – simply blend tobacco, water and salt. However, true snus fans know that it’s all about the specific blend.

A recipe to change history...

Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf, the founder of Ettan, started working at one of the biggest tobacco factories in Sweden when he was only 14. His talent helped him to climb the ladder with rapid speed and he become manager of the factory just 10 years later at the age of 24. Thanks to his higher position, Ljunglöf was able to start making snus under his own name, and Ettan was invented the following year.

Methods of tobacco production in the early 19th century generally involved fermenting the tobacco at high temperatures for up to 6 months before starting to make the snus. However, Ljunglöf reasoned that using fresh snus would make a more enjoyable product. He enlisted the help of a friend who was also the renowned chemist and scientist - Jacob Berzelius* to work on this problem with him. They developed the method of producing snus using the mixture of tobacco, water, salt and potash (a source of potassium salts). The new method had the advantage of requiring only a week to prepare – where the fermenting process had previously taken months – and Ljunglöf  knew that they had found something really special. To protect the recipe, he kept it secret by writing it down in a code that only he was able to understand.

*If you are ever in Stockholm and visit the Berns nightclub, you will be able to see the Berzelii Park – named after Jacob Berzelius – outside the window. A statue of this father of modern chemistry graces the centre of the park – a testament to his brilliance and fame.

Great quality snus with a super name

Ljunglöf decided to name his first snus variety – made with the finest tobacco, salt and water after himself. "Ljunglöf's No. 1" signified that this snus was the absolute top of the market and totally awesome. It was common at the time to name products after the level of quality they represented, with No. 1 being the finest that the factory or brand had to offer. There would also have been a No. 2 and No. 3 that would have been consecutively less awesome, but fittingly it was the best of the best that has survived until today. "Ljunglöf's No. 1" was acclaimed as a wonderful snus and later came to be known by consumers simply as “Ettan”. A great history behind a top quality snus.

 

Sometimes the answer is right under your nose

As we know, the recipe for Ettan was created by Jacob Ljunglöf , but his son Knut Ljunglöf  became even more famous and was even called the King of Snus for a while. Of the many stories about the Snus King, here is our favorite: Knut always used his nose to test the quality of snus produced in the factory. He had a daily ritual where a silver bowl of fresh snus would be placed onto his desk and he would take a spoonful of it and hold it under his nose. He inhaled with his eyes closed and was able to tell if the moisture level and quality of the tobacco was as it should be. If the snus met with his approval it would later be packaged ready to be sold. If not, the entire batch would be thrown away. When people asked him about the secret behind the success of the Ettan brand, Knut would simply point at his own nose and say “THIS is the secret.”

 

The Perfect Snus King

The Ettan brand became – and to some extent, still is – a reflection of Knut’s own personality and sense of style. He was obsessed with perfection and sought out the best of everything, whether it was food, clothes or the décor of his home. He lived in the type of house that would nowadays be featured on TV shows such as “The Crib”. However, he also displayed a single-minded dedication towards perfecting the quality of Ettan snus.

Apart from the daily nose inspection test, he was also a regular visitor at the tobacco fields where he carried out his own testing of the soil. He also personally inspected the company’s storage facilities to ensure that the correct temperature and moisture conditions were being maintained. He received many requests to export Ettan snus to other countries, but turned them down because of the problem of slow transportation which would make delivering fresh snus impossible. Although Knut’s amazing nose is no longer in operation at the Ettan factory, the dedication of Swedish Match employees and the top-level technology they employ ensure that the same superior quality levels are still being met in every batch of Ettan. As a company, Swedish Match shares the same passion for quality and are careful to carry on the legacy established by Knut. 

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items

    From 6,29 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    A true original in a limited edition can - "JAKT"! Inspired by but not only for hunters! Ettan loose snus offers clear flavors of tobacco, malt, peat and dark chocolate. The snus is as easy to shape today as it was when it launched - the year of 1822.

    Out of stock
    28 Cans

    6,29 CHF

    1 Can

    9,19 CHF

    5 Cans

    8,69 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,79 CHF

    From 7,19 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    If you're a fan of loose snus, Ettan is the one to try. This loose snus tobacco has a dark, smoky flavor that combines hints of chocolate and malt A real classic.

    In Stock
    28 Cans

    7,19 CHF

    1 Can

    10,49 CHF

    5 Cans

    9,99 CHF

    10 Cans

    8,89 CHF

    From 5,79 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Get 24 portions of the classic Ettan snus with its smoky malt and tar taste, bringing hints of chocolate and grass. For fans of Ettan snus who want a more convenient solution on the go.

    In Stock
    50 Cans

    5,79 CHF

    1 Can

    8,99 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,69 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,29 CHF

    From 5,79 CHF

    INCL. SHIPPING, TAX & VAT

    Experience the authentic flavor of Ettan Snus by Swedish match, here available in a White Portion version. Moistened snus packed into dry-surface portions for a fast and long-lasting flavor hit.

    In Stock
    55 Cans

    5,79 CHF

    1 Can

    9,19 CHF

    10 Cans

    7,69 CHF

    30 Cans

    6,29 CHF

1 - 4 of 4 are displayed

GET THE BEST PRICE WITH ONLY ONE CLICK

We show you at a glance how many cans of a product you (still) can add to your shopping cart until the Swiss import limit (1200g tobacco) is reached.

The quantity and the respective price are automatically adjusted as soon as you add products to your shopping cart.

So we do the math and you get the lowest unit price by using the import limit optimally.

Brand: Ettan

Ettan

Ettan – ou « numéro 1 » en suédois

En 1822, la vie en Suède était bien différente. Les locomotives à vapeur venaient tout juste d'être inventées et la lumière électrique en était aussi à ses débuts. Les imperméables étaient encore à venir. C'est à ce moment de l'histoire que M. Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf a élaboré sa propre recette spéciale de snus suédois : une recette qui a survécu plus de 200 ans et qui est toujours populaire aujourd'hui. Le nom vient du mot suédois signifiant « 1 », pour indiquer qu'Ettan était le snus de la meilleure qualité produit dans l'usine.

Une façon simple de voyager dans le temps

Le snus Ettan est une façon simple et pratique de voyager dans le temps – à condition que vous voulez voyager dans la Suède de 1822. Pourquoi cela ? Parce que la recette du snus en vrac Ettan n'a pas changé depuis près de 200 ans ! Le mélange est toujours exactement tel qu'il a été défini par l'inventeur de la variété, Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf. Les quantités et les types de tabacs utilisés n'ont pas subi le moindre changement. Si vous êtes amateur de snus en portion, n'oubliez pas que cette façon pratique de savourer du snus n'a vu le jour qu'à la fin du XXe siècle. Pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas bien le snus, la méthode utilisée pour sa fabrication semble très simple : il suffit de mélanger du tabac, de l'eau et du sel. Cependant, les connaisseurs savent qu'il s'agit d'un mélange spécifique.

Une recette pour changer l'histoire...

Jacob Fredrik Ljunglöf, le fondateur d'Ettan, a commencé à travailler dans l'une des plus grandes usines de tabac en Suède alors qu'il n'avait que 14 ans. Son talent l'a aidé à rapidement gravir les échelons pour devenir directeur de l'usine 10 ans plus tard, à l'âge de 24 ans. Grâce à son poste plus élevé, M. Ljunglöf a pu commencer à faire du snus sous son propre nom, et Ettan était inventé l'année suivante.

Au début du XIXe siècle, les méthodes de production du tabac consistaient généralement à le fermenter à des températures élevées pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu'à six mois avant de commencer à faire le snus. Cependant, M. Ljunglöf estimait que l'utilisation de snus frais rendrait le produit plus agréable. Il a fait appel à un ami, le chimiste et scientifique de renom Jacob Berzelius*, pour plancher avec lui sur ce problème. Ils ont mis au point la méthode de production du snus en mélangeant du tabac, de l'eau, du sel et de la potasse (une source de sels de potassium). La nouvelle méthode avait l'avantage de ne nécessiter qu'une semaine de préparation – alors que le processus de fermentation prenait auparavant des mois – et M. Ljunglöf savait qu'ils avaient trouvé quelque chose de vraiment spécial. Pour protéger la recette, il l’a gardée secrète en la retranscrivant dans un code qu'il était le seul à pouvoir comprendre.

*Si vous passez un jour par Stockholm et sortez dans la boîte de nuit Berns, vous pourrez voir le parc Berzelii – du nom de Jacob Berzelius – par la fenêtre. Une statue de ce père de la chimie moderne orne le centre du parc, en témoignage de son intelligence supérieure et de sa renommée.

Snus de grande qualité avec un super nom

M. Ljunglöf a décidé de donner son nom à sa première variété de snus, fabriquée avec le tabac le plus fin, du sel et de l'eau. « Ljunglöf numéro 1 » signifiait que ce snus était le meilleur du marché et qu'il était tout simplement génial. Il était courant à l'époque de nommer les produits en fonction du niveau de qualité qu'ils représentaient, le numéro 1 étant le plus fin que l'usine ou la marque avait à offrir. Il y aurait également eu un numéro 2 et un numéro 3 qui auraient été consécutivement moins impressionnants, mais à juste titre, c'est le meilleur du meilleur qui a survécu jusqu'à aujourd'hui. « Ljunglöf numéro 1 » a été acclamé comme un merveilleux snus et plus tard, les consommateurs l'ont surnommé simplement « Ettan ». Une grande histoire derrière un snus de qualité supérieure.

 

Parfois, la réponse est juste sous votre nez

Comme nous le savons, la recette du snus Ettan a été créée par Jacob Ljunglöf, mais son fils Knut Ljunglöf est devenu encore plus célèbre, étant même surnommé le Roi Snus pendant un certain temps. De toutes les histoires sur le Roi Snus, voici notre préférée : Knut utilisait toujours son nez pour évaluer la qualité du snus produit à l’usine. Il avait un rituel quotidien : il prenait une cuillerée de snus frais dans un bol d'argent sur son bureau et le tenait sous son nez. Il inhalait les yeux fermés et pouvait dire si le taux d'humidité et la qualité du tabac étaient tels qu'ils devaient être. Si le snus recevait son approbation, il était conditionné prêt à être vendu. Autrement, tout le lot était jeté. Quand on lui posait des questions sur le secret du succès de la marque Ettan, Knut pointait simplement son nez du doigt et disait : « C’est ÇA, le secret ».

 

Le Parfait Roi Snus

La marque Ettan est devenue – et, dans une certaine mesure, est toujours – le reflet de la personnalité et du style de Knut. Il était obsédé par la perfection et recherchait le meilleur de tout, qu’il s’agisse de nourriture, de vêtements ou de la décoration de sa maison. Il vivait dans le type de maison digne d'un magazine. Cependant, il faisait également preuve d'un dévouement sans faille pour perfectionner la qualité du snus Ettan.

En plus de l'inspection nasale quotidienne, il se rendait régulièrement dans les champs de tabac où il effectuait ses propres analyses de sol. Il inspectait aussi personnellement les entrepôts de la société pour s'assurer que les bonnes conditions de température et d'humidité étaient maintenues. Il recevait de nombreuses demandes d'exportation de snus Ettan vers d'autres pays, mais les refusait en raison du problème de lenteur du transport qui rendait impossible la livraison de snus frais. Bien que l’usine d’Ettan ne puisse plus compter aujourd’hui sur le formidable nez de Knut, le dévouement des employés de Swedish Match et la technologie de pointe utilisée garantissent un niveau de qualité supérieure pour chaque lot du snus Ettan. En tant que société, Swedish Match partage la même passion pour la qualité et prend soin de perpétuer l'héritage de Knut. 

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 items

    Si vous êtes un fan de snus en vrac, Ettan est le meilleur choix. Ce tabac snus en vrac a une saveur fumée prononcée, qui associe des notes de malt et de chocolat : un vrai classique.

    1 Boîte

    8,23 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    6,92 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    5,69 CHF

    Savourez 24 portions du snus classique Ettan au goût fumé de malt et de goudron, ponctué de notes de chocolat et d'herbe. Pour les fans du snus Ettan qui recherchent une solution plus pratique en déplacement.

    1 Boîte

    9,60 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,29 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    6,29 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,89 CHF

    Découvrez la saveur authentique d'Ettan Snus par Swedish Match, disponible ici en version White Portion. Du snus humide emballé dans des portions à surface sèche pour une dose de saveur à diffusion rapide et durable.

    1 Boîte

    9,60 CHF

    10 Boîtes

    7,29 CHF

    40 Boîtes

    6,29 CHF

    120 Boîtes

    4,89 CHF

Résultats 1 - 3 sur 3.